Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In about one week miss thing will be 2 and 1/2! I am mostly loving this stage. She has always been independent with a touch of stubborn. My mom tells me that there was once a little girl just like Taylor who could do everything by herself too. I turned out alright (I think), so there’s hope! With her blossoming language skills, she is able to tell us more and more of what is on her mind.

A couple of months ago, we ate Chinese with Wes’s family and Taylor ate Teriyaki chicken. That week, she started talking about her friend from church that she plays with. We asked her what her friend’s name was and she replied, “Teriyaki. My fwen Teriyaki.” I assume none of the kids in her class are named Teriyaki, so I have no idea who her friend is. Then for Christmas, she received a new baby doll with hair to brush. When I asked her what her baby’s name is, she said, “Teriyaki!” The name has stuck and generates lots of laughs when she exclaims, “Teriyaki is hungry!” Or “Shhh, Teriyaki is sleeping.” Or “Bubba, stop eating Teriyaki!”

"Teriyaki is sad. I need to lub her."

“Teriyaki is sad. I need to lub her.”

Apparently motherhood suits Taylor well and she has extended her skills to include baby Brendan. She is learning that only adults need to discipline Bubba, or any other kid for that matter. Let’s be honest, she is pretty good at parroting every line we give Brendan when he is being a pill. “Bubba, get down.” “Bubba, momma say NOOOO!” “BubbAAAAAAA! My say no!” While playing at her cousin’s house, she told her cousin “don’t talk to your mommy like that.” She needs to take a bit of her own medicine sometimes.

Just the other day she got in trouble for doing something that she knows is off limits. Wes strictly told her no, but there was no yelling involved. She scrunched up her face and pointed at him and said, “Don’t yell, daddy! Just talk.” Those are my words, and my pointy finger, but I sure hope I don’t scrunch my face up like that!

On a sweet note, she is Brendan’s biggest fan. Besides me, of course. Lately she keeps telling people that Jesus wants to hold Bubba. If you tell her that Jesus loves her, she’ll tell you that Jesus loves Bubba too.

And last, but certainly not least, and definitely most embarrassing, is Taylor’s newest way to motivate you in your New Year’s resolution to tone your belly. After recently seeing her aunt’s growing baby belly, she started associating bellies with babies. While hanging out with her beloved grandpa, she looked up at him and said, “Poppop? You have a baby in you belly?”

I sometimes wonder why she names her baby after chicken or when she’ll learn not lift random people’s shirt and inquire about their bellies…or when she’ll stop waking up in the middle of the night screaming about ant eaters that are in her room that she wishes weren’t in her room. When I really think about it, I don’t want her to have big girl nightmares. I like her funny 2 year old baby names and sense of independence. I’ll miss her at this age, I know I will. I hope 2 year old Brendan has just enough attitude for me to find funny and to remind me of his big sis.

I'll miss the little Taylor that was convinced that this is how you wear your sunglasses.

I’ll miss the little Taylor who was convinced that this is how you wear your sunglasses.

I'll miss my baby girl who walks out of her room in the morning ready to jump on the bed wearing a sun dress she pulled down from the back of the closet.

I’ll miss my baby girl who walks out of her room in the morning ready to jump on the bed wearing a sun dress she pulled down from the back of the closet.

Oh, princess. If I could name you after chicken, you would be my sweet and sour. We love you and you’ll always be our baby girl, even though you will always think that you’re a “big dirl.”