Tags

, , ,

November 29, 2008

Today marks our 4 year wedding anniversary. It feels like it was just yesterday, yet in so many ways it feels much longer than four years. Someday I would love to put a post together of how we met, how he wooed me and pursued me, how he proposed and more. For now, we’ll suffice it to say that I was not on the look out for a boyfriend and was hoping expecting to be single for many more years. Wes stepped into my life at just the right time and blew me away. I just kept waiting for something to go awfully awry, but it didn’t.

Fast forward to this date and I’m still blown away. I don’t have words to describe how “looked out for” I feel from both God and Wes in our marriage. Wes stealing my heart was one of the biggest events that renewed my vision of God’s faithfulness at a time when I was weak. And Wes, he gives me more than I could ever have asked for as a man, a husband and a father.

We have not achieved a perfect marriage, but I plan on having many more years to perfect what we have. This year we have worked harder on our relationship than I imagined possible in the first four years. I guess that’s what happens when you pile multiple life events into 4 short years at the ripe age of 24. I like to think we’ve tackled some big stuff and that we have a free pass for a conflict free fifth year!! (Kidding, kidding).

Here’s to years and years of staying up way too late just hanging out, house projects that never end, watching our babies grow up right before our eyes. Here’s to thousands of more days making big decisions and wondering if we chose well, baking sugar cookies galore and having fun with our hobbies. Let’s hope there’s only a few years left of you smirking at me when I cry and me keeping you up at night talking when you clearly would like to be sleeping.

Love you forever, babe!

Photos by Michael Bankston

