Tags

, , ,

This year I have a lot to be thankful for. Every year at our Thanksgiving meal we go around the table and everyone says something to be thankful for. This year it was hard to decide what to say. There are lots of “things”, lots of experiences, lots of people…lots of good all around. But this year I am thankful for a feeling. That after all is said and done, from last Thanksgiving to the present, I am still alive and well and have some portion of my sanity. The older I get, the more I finally realize that the details of life rarely go how I imagine they would. We’re headed from point A to point B and eventually we’ll get there after all the stops in between. This year I tried to relish every stage and transition instead of wish the harder times away. I am thankful for the “full” feeling I have at the end of this year. Almost like a full belly after Thanksgiving dinner when you lay back and breathe a sigh of satisfaction. “That was so good.” All of it.

I love this holiday because it draws me to think about what is most important to me and to us. It brings a sense of perspective and priority before heading into the Christmas season.

Wes took this picture overseas before we met and I love the story it can tell. Perspective and priority no matter the circumstances. The cross to me is my hope and my safety even though I can’t deserve it. It doesn’t make sense, but this year it made my world make sense.

Here’s to another year of blessings, one after another, that come in all shapes, sizes and disguises.

 

 

