Tags

Father’s Day is a special day. I count it a blessing to have my dad close to me in proximity and relationship. When I think of my dad, I think of Car Talk playing on NPR…or really anything playing on NPR. I think of his sense of humor. I remember when he brought a bobcat to school for show-and-tell and I was so proud that he was my dad. I’ll never forget when he got teary at state swimming my senior year of high school and I felt that he was proud of me. My dad may not be a man of many words, but he is leader without needing words. With actions, he has taught me of forgiveness and humility.

The older I get, the more that I realize I have a lot of qualities of my dad. I question something until I understand it and always wonder how something works or runs. I’m not fully introverted but I’m not fully extroverted. Sometimes my dad says a joke and I say, ” I was just about to say that!” (Uh oh…can the world handle more Walter jokes?) I am slow to spend money and enjoy working to save up for something. I remember when I wanted a tether ball and pole so bad when I was little. It was $26 and my dad had me save up for it and I loved that thing so much! I actually still have it, weathered ball and all.

Dad, you have taught me so much about the world. You have shown me how to live in this world as a caring citizen, a hard worker, and a loving family member. You have inspired me to engage in meaningful and challenging relationships with people because our people make up our community. Most of all, you have let me see Christ in you and through you and for that I will always be thankful.

You have inspired me to reach for my dreams.

Thank you for your love, Happy Father’s Day.

