Tags

, , ,

“Katherine Anne Berry, How do you do today? Katherine Anne Berry, Going far away. Come and kiss your mommy before you go. Katherine Anne, Katherine Anne Berry.”

As a child, this one of the night-time songs I loved my mom to sing. If I remember correctly, she and a friend made this song up when they were growing up. You can stick anyone’s full name in the song. Of course, we sing it now to our kids with their names. Some of my favorite memories of my mom are the songs she sang for bedtime. Not all of them were made up, such as “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” and “Barges” (Barges, I would like to go with you, I would like to sail the ocean blue…). For some reason, when she sang My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean, I always pictured Bonnie being a poodle that it’s owner really missed because she was away, over the ocean. Makes sense, right?

One secret trait about my mom is that she can sing opera. I remember how she could turn any song into opera. One quality about my mom that you would pick up on if you just met her is her compassion for everyone. She is always warm and inviting. One thing I will always thank my mom for passing down is her humor. She has the type of humor where you can make anything funny…and I’m afraid between her humor and my dad’s dry sense of humor, us children couldn’t escape finding humor in almost anything. We would stay up late switching names around, like Katherine Berry would be Batherine Kerry. Adam Samuel would be Sadam Amuel. You can imagine how hilarious this would become in a child’s mind. Our favorite name? Scotty Pippen. (Figured it out yet? Potty Skippin, if you say it right.)

One characteristic my mom is consistent with that makes her so strong is that she is a prayer warrior. I always respected that about her and loved knowing that she woke up in the wee hours of every morning to pray. She is always there for others and genuinely cares for others.

I couldn’t say it loud enough to convey how much I mean it, but, I love you, mom!

Happy Mother’s Day!

